History is All You Left Me: just leave this history on the shelf

“I feel like a rock being skipped through the ocean—pain, relief, pain again, relief again, eventually destined to sink.”

I was really disappointed by History Is All You Left Me. I had been so excited for it, by the author of one of my favorite books- More Happy Than Not. But it was depressing, angsty, and overly confusing. The premise is that Griffin’s ex boyfriend, Theo, dies in an accident. He’s shocked, and this book is about him trying to come to terms with it.

Griffin starts hanging out with Jackson, and some sparks fly. Compared to More Happy Than Not, which is probably one of the saddest books I’ve read, this book has no hope or happiness whatsoever. It is very similar to Julie Anne Peter’s book, Lies My Girlfriend Told Me, in plot. But the sheer weight of the sadness in this book is hard to get through, and I didn’t finish. Also, the main characters OCD is badly portrayed; basically he counts a lot and that is it.

On the plus side, there are a few good lines, and a couple of funny moments. More LGBTQ books out is always a good thing, but I’d advise you to stay away from this one unless you want to hear the tale of a boy losing his ex and to deal with it, having sex with every other character. I’ll definitely keep reading Adam Silvera’s books, but this one didn’t live up to my expectations.

Ratingimage

1 star. This book wasn’t my thing at all, even though someone might like it, I found the writing stilted and the characterization unrealistic. Overall, the book had too much sadness and not enough hope.

In 2 words: Gloomy Memories

Quote that pretty much sums up the whole book:

“I want you to watch me have sex with your boyfriend.”

-Griffin, talking to his dead ex

Author: aroundthelibraryin80days

Hi! I'm a teen book blogger from New England who loves reading, writing, and hot cocoa. Feel free to comment or suggest a book for me to review! My name is Rose and my weekly reviews are on this blog, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

