How I Choose Books Tag

Hi everyone, this is the How I Choose Books Tag- describing how I find the books I read. I first saw it at thriceread.

1. Find a book on your shelves with a blue cover. What made you pick up the  book in the first place?.

I think I found The Bell Jar through a list of books everyone should read, and it’s true. I got it for a Hanukkah present, and loved it.

2. Think of a book you didn’t expect to enjoy but did. Why did you read it in the first place?

I expected to not like Speak, but it really drew me in and I ended up reading it after many recommendations from friends.

3. Stand in front of your bookshelf with your eyes closed and pick up a book at random. How did you discover this book?

My hand landed on a Rhyming Dictionary, which was a gift from my mother a few years ago. I don’t use it for poems or songs, but the rhymes are always fun to look through.

4. Pick a book that someone personally recommended to you. What did you think of it?

My friend recommended The Girl Who Slept With God to me, and I loved the drowsy way it was written and the premise. I skipped a big chunk of description in the middle when I first read it, but I want to go back and reread the whole book.

5. Pick a book you discovered through book blogs. Did it live up to the hype?

I heard of Carry On through book blogs after reading Fangirl, and totally did. There are aspects of Carry On that would be laughable if any other writer wrote them, but Rainbow Rowell is a genius.

6. Find a book on your shelves with a one word title. What drew you to this book?

I got Cinder because a cyborg Cinderella sounded awesome, and it was really fun to read.

7. What book did you discover through a film/TV adaptation?

I was always pretty strict with myself about always reading the book first, but I can say Winnie The Pooh, which I- or my parents- discovered after watching the cartoon. And no matter how old you are, Winnie The Pooh is still awesome.

8. Think of your all-time favourite books. When did you read these and why did you pick them up in the first place?

  • The Bridge to Terabithia

I don’t remember where I first got this book, probably the library, but I do remember I was drawn in by the illustrations and the first page’s descriptions of farm life, which I was obsessed with due to the Little Prairie books and general romance of it all.

  • More Happy Then Not

I found this book at the library, thinking the gritty smiley face cover was cool and the premise sounded like it involved a gay romance. That was not exactly true, but it’s one of my favorite books now and I’m so glad I read it.

  • The Miseducation of Cameron Post

I’m pretty sure I read this book because it was at the top of some TOP 100 LESBIAN BOOKS type list, and I actually left it at the cafe and had to retrieve it from a Lost & Found the day after borrowing it.

  • Animal Farm

The fact that George Orwell wrote a novel about pigs to illustrate his thoughts in Communism inspires me so much, and you can read my review of this book right here. Animal Farm was recommended to me by multiple friends.

Okay I have a couple million more ‘favorite’ books, but I also only have 3% battery, so thanks for reading and have a nice day!

Tags:

notsomoderngirl

myshelfandmyself

readingeverynight
rosereadblog

& anyone else who is interested– I just saw this tag and liked it.

Have a great day!

Author: aroundthelibraryin80days

Hi! I'm a teen book blogger from New England who loves reading, writing, and hot cocoa. Feel free to comment or suggest a book for me to review! My name is Rose and my weekly reviews are on this blog, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

